Morphe 39A

I believe this palette is going out of production? Anyhow, I had been considering to get it for a while and finally did. I’m still on the fence if I’m going to keep it or not. I have not swatched any shade yet and I’m gonna sit on it for a while (wow, I’m so mature, haha) and think about it. I suppose I could sell it if I decide I don’t need it.

DSC_8772.jpg

What makes me hesitate is all the mid browns in this palette. I rarely use a brown unless it is either very cool or very warm. There is just so much of it here. Also the idea of the large transition shades is really great, but these shades are nearly all wrong for me, either as transition or contour. It’s actually great that for once a palette seems to be catering to the darker skin colour spectrum, but this is no use to me in particular. Maybe I should find someone with darker skin to unload all these undoubtedly very useful shades on!

Looking at it objectively, for this price I could just get a very, very few MAC eyeshadows (not that I do that anymore), so I could just not be precious about it and break this palette up and keep the shades I’d like to keep in my colour-coded palettes. Thing is, if I already have dupes among my ancient shades which are perfectly fine. By looking at it it looks like I might, but eyeshadows have also gotten a lot better (at least more pigmented) recently so actual swatches might say otherwise.

A couple of pictures. The second is purposefully overexposed which reveals some nuance in the shades.

The shades I’m at first sight interested in are Bronze Chrome, Expression, Create, Passion, Forever, Frame, Deep Hue, Vibrant, Vivid, Bare, Evolve, Transitional, Image, Indigo, Dare me, Fickle, Inspire, Pine, Tailor, Colour, Cobalt blu, Slice, Exposed and Granite. 24 out of 39 is… not at all bad?

Sometimes I dream of smashing ALL of my eyeshadows and repotting them in compact palettes with square pans. I hate round pans, such a waste of space. Maybe some day…

As an afterthought… I also got a Morphe (my first and only) brush in this order. M173. I got it for concealer blending undereye and so on -the only thing I could think of that I don’t have covered- and it seems great for that, but I haven’t tried it yet. BTW the handle is all wonky, but that means it doesn’t roll off the table? ;D

m173small

Leave a comment