Essence things

Today we passed by Kruidvat and I had a look at the counters for a bit, difficult to ever leave without any Essence or Catrice item ;P They had this silly, but so cute Wood you love me Essence collection, I’m a sucker for foresty things and got some stuff. I’m totally not the target audience haha! The eye and particularly the lip palette were so cute, but the shades/payoff themselves didn’t really appeal to me, plus I like to depot everything, so just picked up some eye pencils, a brush and some nail files, which are always useful. Also picked some Catrice lashes, I never ever wear lashes, but since these were so fine and short (“corner lashes”) I thought I’d pick them up.

 

The pencils are really great. Super creamy and very pigmented. They smudge effortlesly, but don’t actually set. I always love a creamy shade for the waterline, and I love green! not flattering to my hazel-olive eyes but I can’t help myself…

The brush is very silly. What’s this thing?? to stamp little hearts on? lol. No, they actually expect you to do your outer corner with it, haha. The other end is a decent (for the price) pencil type brush, which is why I bought it.

I also took a “smudge” brush from their regular collection. I really like their brushes for the price, they’re decent synthetics that I use as extras or for cream products.

 

I also picked up this “holographic” highlighter thing palette. I have some TBS shadows from… 2011? that are very very similar (the Eye Shimmers), years before this new fad, and it didn’t really take, but I think the formula is not very good on those. These are a bit better, but I don’t have any higher end stuff to compare to (and won’t spend such money on this type of thing, since I don’t think I’ll use it that much). So perhaps I’ll swatch against them later on. There’s also a black (quite decent on its own) and silver that you are supposed to use in combination. That doesn’t really work well except the dark one… on the finger only, hah. Anyhow. More comments on the image captions.

I do like to depot everything but I think I won’t be able to depot this palette, the shadows seem to be pressed right in the palette so they would definitely break. I have another Essence palette like this that I haven’t dared depot.

 

All pics in this post phone pics, sorry haven’t got the time.

Leave a comment